Section navigation

What They’re Saying About Banner Books (2013 No. 2)

Category Book Reviews
Date June 4, 2013

‘The providence of God! What a glorious and precious doctrine this is when the good Lord opens our eyes to it! And how better to open our eyes to it than to lead us through the Scriptures and show us this merry little stream of biblical truth sometimes hidden beneath the surface but undergirding the narrative, while at other times springing up to the surface to be clearly seen in the unfolding of events? That is what our author does . . .’
[Bob Thomas is enthusiastic about Alexander Carson’s The History of Providence – and David Searle’s Joseph: His Arms Were Made Strong].

Below are links to selected online reviews of Banner titles, posted February-May 2013. The views expressed are of course those of the respective bloggers/reviewers. For each title mentioned, a link is also provided to the appropriate page of the Banner online Bookstore, where orders can be placed.

Notes

Bob Thomas (Melbourne) in Australia’s online magazine New Life, April 1, 2013 (page 16).

Bob Thomas (Melbourne) in Australia’s online magazine New Life, February 15, 2013 (page 16) says Joseph is ‘packed with fresh insights’.

Caleb Nelson (N. Colorado) at Worldmag.com finds Brown’s sermons ‘infectious’.

T. C. Robinson (St Louis, Missouri) on his New Leaven blog, commends Grier’s work as ‘a solid contribution’.

T. C. Robinson (St Louis, Missouri) on his New Leaven blog, likes the ‘great readable font’, but wishes this Gift Edition Pocket Puritan had a ribbon marker.

Mignon Goswell (Victoria) in Australia’s online magazine New Life, April 15, 2013 (page 15) thinks the paperback format will allow ‘a wider audience to benefit from these valuable sermons’.

Thabiti Anyabwile (Grand Cayman) at The Gospel Coalition website ‘completely enjoyed reading the biography’.

David King (Chattanooga, Tennessee) in 9Marks Journal, March 2013, describes this as ‘a uniquely useful book [which] provides a helpful method of evaluating Christian preaching.’

Latest Articles

How to Read a Soul-Improving Book June 20, 2024

The following, which appeared in Issues 611–612 of the Banner of Truth Magazine (Aug–Sep 2014) is from John Angell James, The Anxious Inquirer After Salvation Directed and Encouraged*. We are grateful to Mr Martyn Jolly for bringing this extract to our attention and supplying the text. It may seem strange to some persons, that I […]

The Real Evidence about Scripture and Homosexual Practice May 31, 2024

1. Jesus Claim: Jesus had no interest in maintaining a male-female requirement for sexual relations. What the evidence really shows: Jesus believed that a male-female requirement for sexual relations was foundational, a core value of Scripture’s sexual ethics on which other sexual standards should be based, including the ‘twoness’ of a sexual union. Jesus predicated […]