John Owen on the Lord’s Supper

Author
Category
Look Inside Price $30.00 $31.50

173 in stock

Weight 1 lbs
Dimensions 8.8 × 5.75 × 0.8 in
topic

The Church, The Lord's Supper

Banner Pub Date

Jun 30, 2004

page-count

250

Original Pub Date

2004

isbn

9780851518725

binding

Cloth-bound

Format

Book

ENDORSEMENT

In the continuing debates over the various sacramental views in the Reformed tradition it is good to get these discourses by John Owen in one Volume. Jon Payne has written an invaluable summary of the various positions and has (in case of the Supper) placed Owen firmly in the tradition of Calvin and Vermigli without necessarily employing Calvin’s (sometimes) tortuous language. The church is indebted to him for this contribution. This is a timely publication. I warmly commend it.’– DEREK THOMAS

Book Description

The approach of the Puritans to the Lord’s Supper is a comparatively neglected aspect of their heritage. In particular, John Owen’s twenty-five sacramental discourses are little known and little read, even among those who value his massive contribution to the understanding and defence of the doctrines of the gospel.

In John Owen on the Lord’s Supper, Jon D. Payne has set out to rescue Owen’s teaching on the Supper from this neglect. He sets the scene by outlining Owen’s life and teaching. He then goes on to examine the development of Reformed teaching on the Supper- especially the part played by Calvin and Peter Martyr Vermigli- before focusing on Owen’s Twenty-five Discourses Suitable to the Lord’s Supper, delivered between 1669 and 1682, and taken down by hearers.

But the latter part of this volume is occupied by the Discourses themselves. Here the reader will encounter an Owen less concerned to define and defend truth than to comfort and help even the weakest of believers as they come to the Lord’s Supper. The great and lasting value of this work comes from Owen’s obvious desire to promote ‘delight in Christ, thankfulness unto him, and the keeping of his word’, in all who partake.

Table of Contents Expand ↓

 1. John Owen: The Pastor Theologian 1
 2. Owen’s Theology of the Lord’s Supper 18
 3. Owen’s Sacramental Discourses, 1669-82 51
 4. Summary and Conclusions 72
  Appendix 1: Owen’s Published Works 77
  Appendix 2: Works on the Lord’s Supper in Owen’s Library 81
  Bibliography 83
  OWEN’S SACRAMENTAL DISCOURSES  
  Discourse 1 91
  Discourse 2 95
  Discourse 3 104
  Discourse 4 117
  Discourse 5 127
  Discourse 6 141
  Discourse 7 155
  Discourse 8 160
  Discourse 9 166
  Discourse 10 169
  Discourse 11 176
  Discourse 12 181
  Discourse 13 187
  Discourse 14 197
  Discourse 15 202
  Discourse 16 205
  Discourse 17 210
  Discourse 18 214
  Discourse 19 219
  Discourse 20 224
  Discourse 21 229
  Discourse 22 234
  Discourse 23 239
  Discourse 24 243
  Discourse 25 246

 

Testimonials

Submit your testimonial

There are no testimonials yet, would you like to submit yours?

More items to consider:

    Free Offer of the Gospel
    price From: $2.00

    Description

    Examines the development of Reformed teaching on the Supper, focusing on Owen’s Twenty-five Discourses Suitable to the Lord’s Supper, which are included in the volume. 256pp.

    Faith & Life
    price $22.00 $17.10

    Description

    Examines the development of Reformed teaching on the Supper, focusing on Owen’s Twenty-five Discourses Suitable to the Lord’s Supper, which are included in the volume. 256pp.

    Evangelistic Calvinism

    Evangelistic Calvinism

    Why the Doctrines of Grace are Good News

    by J. Benton


    price $2.50 $1.80

    Description

    Examines the development of Reformed teaching on the Supper, focusing on Owen’s Twenty-five Discourses Suitable to the Lord’s Supper, which are included in the volume. 256pp.